Located in City Park, the monument recognizes those who died while serving in Portsmouth’s Light Artillery, organized originally in 1809. It was dedicated June 8, 1906. The shaft is eighteen feet high, of rough Virginia granite, with four polished sides. On one side is inscribed the names of Capt. Arthur Emmerson’s men who fought with him at Craney Island, surmounted by two United States flags, crossed, and on the first base ‘Craney Island’ in raised letters. The other three faces contain the roll of the Confederate soldiers who served under Capt. Grimes. The names are surmounted by the Confederate battle flag, and on the base ‘Malvern Hill,’ ‘Manassas’ and ‘Sharpsburg.’ This design is an unique conception, and is probably the first monument in the United States containing both the Stars and Stripes and the Confederate flags.
Recognizes those who died while serving in Portsmouth's Light Artillery.
7 Cpl JM Williams Avenue Portsmouth, Virginia 23701
No Records Found
Sorry, no records were found. Please adjust your search criteria and try again.
Maps failed to load
Sorry, unable to load the Maps API.